沙田至中环线

沙田至中环线是多年来香港地铁网的最大延长路段。计划分两期开通,分别是2019年和2021年。此项目将在新界与城市中心区之间提供一条更快的线路,是首次为东九龙提供铁路服务,將有效缓解交通挤塞。总长度17公里的延长线包括6个新车站、1条在维多利亚港下面穿过的新铁路,还要对几个现有港铁站进行重大改造。

Farrells设计了会展、土瓜湾和宋王台三个新车站。为了应对拥挤的市区位置,土瓜湾站采用节省空间的层叠式月台设计。而服务于启德发展用地的宋王台站进行了重新设计,以便处理在开挖期间发现的宋朝和元朝历史古迹和建筑结构。

另外,Farrells还设计了因沙中线而重置的公共设施,包括将取代铜锣湾警官会所的旺角警察体育游乐会,铁路开通后,新的警官会所将会在原地址建成。

新的港湾道室内运动场及湾仔游泳池亦代替了因会展站而拆除的前运动馆, 这种异常复杂的重新安排正在分階段进行。新游泳池已于2015年开放,而室内运动场于2017年开放,屆时会展站的工程将全面展开。

Shatin to Central Link

The Shatin to Central Link is the largest expansion of Hong Kong’s metro network in years. Set to open in two phases, in 2019 and 2021 respectively, the project will relieve congestion, provide a faster link between the New Territories and the urban core, and provide railway service to East Kowloon for the first time. With a total length of 17 km, the extension includes six new stations, a new rail crossing beneath Victoria Harbour, and significant modification of several existing MTR stops.

Farrells designed three of the new stations, namely: Exhibition Centre, To Kwa Wan, and Sung Wong Toi. In response to its congested urban location, To Kwa Wan Station utilises a space-saving stacked platform arrangement. Sung Wong Toi Station, serving the redeveloped Kai Tak Airport lands, was redesigned to accommodate ancient relics and structures, discovered during site excavation, which date from the Song and Yuan dynasties.

In addition, Farrells designed the reprovisioned public facilities that were relocated to make way for the line. These include an extension to the Police Sports and Recreation Club in Mongkok, which will replace functions of the Police Officers’ Club (POC) in Causeway Bay. After the railway opens, a new POC will be built on the original site.

The new Wan Chai swimming pool and indoor games hall replace older facilities demolished to make way for Exhibition Centre Station. This complex reprovisioning arrangement is being carried out in several phases. The new pool opened in 2015 while the sports centre opens in 2017, at which point construction of Exhibition Centre Station will move into full swing.